Coins catalog - Yemen Arab Republic (North Yemen) (1962-1990), Yemen

Yemen Arab Republic (North Yemen) (1962-1990)

The Yemen Arab Republic also known as North Yemen or Yemen (Sanaa), was a country from 1962 to 1990 in the northern part of what is now Yemen. Its capital was at Sanaa. Following the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, northern Yemen became an independent state as the Mutawakkilite Kingdom of Yemen.
In 1962, the Arab Republic first issued bronze ½ and 1 buqsha, 1⁄20, 1⁄10, 2⁄10 and ¼ rial in a similar style to those of the last king. These were followed in 1963 by a new coinage, consisting of aluminium-bronze ½, 1, and 2 buqsha and silver 5, 10 and 20 buqsha and 1 rial.
In 1974, the new decimal coinage was introduced consisting of aluminium 1 fils, brass 5 and 10 fils, and cupro-nickel 25 and 50 fils. Cupro-nickel 1 rial followed in 1976.

Has market price data - Has market price data

Get Our Mobile Apps