55 Cent 1979 - 400 Years Union of Utrecht

55 Cent 1979 - 400 Years Union of Utrecht
Added by Bart Perdieus
General Description : The Union of Utrecht (Dutch: Unie van Utrecht) was a treaty signed on 23 January 1579 in Utrecht, the Netherlands, unifying the northern provinces of the Netherlands, until then under the control of Habsburg Spain.

The Union of Utrecht is regarded as the foundation of the Republic of the Seven United Provinces, which was not recognized by the Spanish Empire until the Twelve Years' Truce in 1609.

The treaty was signed on 23 January by Holland, Zeeland, Utrecht (but not all of Utrecht) and the province (but not the city) of Groningen. The treaty was a reaction of the Protestant provinces to the 1579 Union of Arras (Dutch: Unie van Atrecht), in which the southern provinces declared their support for Roman Catholic Spain.
Face value 55 Cent
Catalog code (Michel) 1133
Stamp colour Blue
Stamp use Commemorative stamp
Print run 11.034.300
Issue date 23/01/1979
Perforation 12¾ x 14
Catalog prices No catalog prices set yet